Day #3 – 50 days of gratitude

gratitude-day-3

Welcome back! Thank you for being part of this journey. Did you do the exercise I gave you yesterday?

I did. And this is what I discovered.

Q1) What is the one thing I would do now if I knew this was the last moment of my life?

Ans: I would hug my wife and tell her how much I love her and thank her for being here and for loving me and taking care of me, my children and my family.

Q2) What are the three most important things I would do for the next one hour if this was the last hour of my life?

Ans: I would call my mother and tell her how much I love her and thank her for giving me life and making me who I am.

I would call my brothers and sisters and thank them for being there for me and for teaching me and sharing with me and loving me and for being who they are.

I would call all my loved ones and friends and thank them for sharing their life with me and being a part of me and making me who I am

All the above is just one thing

The second thing I would do is make my will and tell my family what to do with what I have left behind.

The third thing I would do is go out to the lawn and walk barefoot on the grass. Relish the feel of my feet on the ground, savour the breeze, look up at the sky and marvel at its vastness and drink in the world as I see it around me. Go for a jog and feel the wind in my face… Soak in this beautiful earth so I can carry the memories of its beauty beyond death. Thank everything I behold, with every breath I have, and thank the creator for the opportunity given to me on this earth.

Q 3) What are the ten most important things you would do for the next 24 hours if you knew this was the last day of your life?

Ans: Obviously, all of the above, plus the following:

  1. Visit my mom and hug her one last time and thank her for being here for me.
  2. Meet my siblings and their families and do the same
  3. Go for a drive with my wife and kids one last time and drink in the views on the highway
  4. Take a walk on the beach and savor the feel of the sands going through my toes, get wet on the sea shore and allow the waves to play rough with me. Watch the ebb and flow of the waves and drink in the sounds of the sea.
  5. Lie on the grass and look up at the night sky and count the stars and attempt to identify the constellations or make up my own names for them.
  6. Read Gerald Durrel’s “My family and other animals” one last time and have a good belly laugh.
  7. Go for a long run and feel the rhythm of my body, the feel of the solid ground, the breeze on my  body, the rush of blood in my face, the sweet pains in the various body parts that have nor got exercised for some time, the view of the countryside on the back roads behind where I stay, the feeling of being alive and fit one last time.
  8. Tie up all my business dealings and hand over to the next in line
  9. Go to a disc one last time with my friends and dance till the wee hours of the morning.
  10. Go to San Thome Church one last time and thank Him for my life.

So as you can see, a lot of the above I could do along with my other important works for the day. So what’s stopping us from doing them.

Go check your list and see how many of them you can do today.

Live. Love. Laugh.  Be grateful for your life. It’s all that you have now.

Leave a Reply

