Day 13: My Dad

dad-bw

Day 13:

I’m grateful for my dad. He raised me the way he knew best. With discipline; with values such as honesty, integrity, love, compassion and concern. He loved life. He loved his wife and family. He loved his friends, he had a large circle of them. He loved good food, a good drink, movies, cars, travel, adventure, cards, carrom, chess, holidays, good relationships, church and more.

He lived life to the fullest. Worked hard. Played hard. Lived well and died well. Today is his death anniversary. He passed on 7 years ago.

When I was a little boy, I was in awe of him. He could swim in the sea carrying one of the kids on his back, far out into the sea beyond the waves. When I saw him carrying one of my siblings out, I used to worry that something bad would happen and they would not return. However, when I was carried out like that and I could enjoy the calm waters beyond the waves, I could see the land far away, and it was so magical.

He could also jump from one building to another. At that time it felt that the buildings were 10 or 20 feet apart. Now that I’m older, I think it must have been just 6 or 8 feet apart. But I cannot be sure now because it’s over 35 years ago and the buildings are not there anymore to verify.

He spent every Sunday afternoon under his car. Those days the Ambassador, Premier Padmini and Morris Minor needed regular care. And he would do it himself or with the driver or mechanic depending on how serious the issue was.

We’ve raised chicken in our home in a room on the terrace. We used to stay in a farm every summer chasing goats and calves, bathing out of or in a concrete tank, attending daily mass in the convent that we stayed in. Summer meant car drives, us getting dropped in this convent / farm and my parents taking off for longer drives, etc.

Life was slow. Life was deeper and more meaningful. Life was healthy. Life was fun. There was more people in our life, real people. Not FB friends and WhatsApp friends we never met. More nature, less plastic.

I miss my dad. He was the best homoeopath doctor ever. He could cure anything and everything. He could take care of any situation. I could be a kid and leave the worries to him. Now I play that role for my children. But I’m not sure that I could be half the person that he was.

Thank you, Dad! Rest in peace!

Leave a Reply

