Day #32:

Good morning! This is a long one. Give yourself a 10-min break and read it fully. Yes. Click on the link below and read it fully. It could change your life. It did, mine.

Yesterday I attended Mahatria’s program on “The Power of Beliefs”. I am attending an event by him after a gap of nearly 15 years. He still has the power to hold an audience spell-bound and he has reinvented himself time and again to stay current and relevant.

24mp-jingle_jpg_26_1699520e

I learned an awful lot and I would like to share some of them with you if you don’t mind. This is helpful to me as well as you since it helps me remember and internalise the things I want to adopt in my life.

It was a 2-hour talk that started on the dot at 4:00 pm and ended on the dot at 6:00 pm. Hats off to him and the organisers, Rotary Club of Madras East. Just being on time all the time speaks volumes of the people who are able to keep to time. I love that.

The program itself is in aid of Rotary East’s Vocational Centre in OMR which trains disadvantaged children to learn a vocation and build a career that has the potential to change their whole family. The Rotary president shared a beautiful success story of Kavita, a girl from a family with a monthly income of Rs 2,000/- Her father was a scavenger. After a  6-month course in computers in their vocational training institute, where she learned not only computers but also etiquette, English communication, etc, she was given a job in one of the Rotarian’s company. Today after 10 yrs and a few job changes, she is earning Rs 90,000/- per month and has educated her siblings and changed her family circumstances forever, from scarcity to abundance. Rotary is keen to create many more Kavitas and through this fundraiser they were able to raise over Rs 1 crore for a new building and campus in OMR.

Mahatria wove this story and the program objective right through his riveting 2-hour speech. I’m not going to reproduce it in verbatim since I neither have the ability to do so nor would you receive it the same way as when you watch his speech in person.

In a race, the winner starts the race with the certainty and belief that he is going to win it. The loser starts with a sinking feeling that he is going to lose it. Not all those who start the race feeling like the winner is going to win. But definitely, the person who starts the race with the feeling that he is going to lose, will lose. So what should be your attitude when starting something? Our beliefs determine who we are and what we become. If we have the right beliefs we can be healthy, wealthy, happy and successful.

He said that if we do one of the three following things in our life from today, then the 2 hours that we are spending together would have been worthwhile for him and us.

  1. I shall drop ONE THING that I know is bad for me but I still continue to do in my life.
  2. I shall do / learn / act on ONE THING that I know is good for me but I have not adopted and implemented in my life.
  3. From now on, I shall monitor every word coming out of my mouth to ensure that it sweetens or improves the atmosphere around me rather than pollute or stink it up.

We all know what is good for us and what is bad for us. The difference between the successful and happy people and the others are the former act on their beliefs while the latter know it but go about their life ignoring it.

So what habits do you have that you know is harming you but you are unable to give up? Pick the most harmful one and let it go right now. Not tomorrow. Not on New Year Day. Right now!  Just drop it and don’t look back.

What habit do you have that you want in your life but have not taken the trouble to inculcate? Do you want to learn a musical instrument? Do you want to sing? Do you want to exercise and get into shape? Pick the ONE NEW THING that will make you feel great about yourself. Commit to it from today, right now and adopt it. Learn. Practice! Make it a habit.

Did you know that all excreta that comes out of the human body stinks? I hadn’t thought of it till then, but yes, he has a point. Words are the only thing that is in our control. Let us bring out words that will sweeten, brighten, elevate and build the atmosphere and people around us rather than stink up or destroy people around us. It is in our control. So use them wisely. Avoid expletives, curse words, demeaning comments, barbs and stink bombs. Can we start that from right now? Thank you.

These three were the key transformational take-aways that he gave us. But I got a few more too and would like to share them with you? Is that okay?

Three more words that stuck with me are LEARN. EARN. RETURN. He said most people go through life thinking that these are phases of life. First 25 years they will Learn. Next 25 years they will Earn. And last 25 years they will Return. But do any of us know whether we will definitely reach the 3rd stage? We don’t. However, we can have all three stages happen every day, every moment. You learn. You earn and you can return all the same day. Think about it. Practice it. This is the dance of life.

The last and final lesson I learned was this. I have taken my talents and my craft for granted. I practice it and earn from it. What have I given it in return? Zilch!!! This is my God that feeds me. I have not treated Him with the respect due. I shall pay more attention to it and grow it and nourish it from now on.

Thank you for reading this fully. Go live life fully.

 

One moment. Just one more little thing for the road. If you are a good person, you owe it to yourself and your creator to be rich and wealthy. If you are spiritually connected and grounded and wealthy you can do enormous good for the world around you. If you let the bad people be poor and make all the good people wealthy, the world will become a beautiful place and heaven will rule on earth.

As you grow you create space for others below you to grow. Invest in yourself. Grow yourself. Your organisation, your family and your surrounding will grow and prosper.

Leave a Reply

