Day #47:

intell20

Good morning!

Today I want to appreciate and give gratitude to some of the most neglected and sometimes most abused components of my life – my body. Without it, I will not be able to have this conversation with you, but I take it for granted and unthinkingly put enormous loads on it too.  If you are a doctor or someone with good knowledge of anatomy and human biology I request you to keep the science aside for the moment. This article is about giving thanks to our body parts and not an exact representation of how it is constructed or how it works.

My feet keep me connected to the ground and our earth. It supports my entire body weight, takes me from place to place, Gives me a chance to activate and energise all organs and parts of my body when it is pressed and prodded during a foot massage. They have given me and my loved ones enormous pleasure and joy while playing footsie under the restaurant tables at stages in my life when it was appropriate and endearing. I give thanks to my feet for the role they have played and continue to play in my life.

My legs are the pillars of my life. I know someone who was very active, extremely productive and the breadwinner of his family who lost one leg permanently in a bike accident more than a decade ago. He is now a shadow of his old self and dependent on others help to see him and his family through life. Only when we lose something do we see its value. I’m aware of the value that my legs give me in my life. I can walk, run, swim, sit, stand, play basketball or badminton because they are here for me. Thank you dear legs, for your stellar role in my life.

My hips are the fulcrum of my life. They hold my torso up and act as a hanger for my legs. They twist and turn when I dance and provide stability when I walk and run. My life will not be the same without them. Thank you, dear hips.

My spine is the central column of my life. They keep me erect, they give me balance and they connect me to all the body parts and functions. They give stability and support to my rib cage and upper torso.  I can write volumes about this body part but I shall save it for another day. Thank you, dear spine for being my backbone of support.

My shoulder blades support my head and act as a hanger for my arms and perhaps even the vertebral column. Thank you dear shoulders, for keeping me up and steady.

My head is my crowning glory. It houses my brain and many important sense organs that life will never be the same without it. Just imagine how gross it will be to walk around without it. Thank you, dear head.

I give thanks to all my body organs for their hard work in keeping me going. There are so many body functions happening in my life while I’m busy at work, at play, at times of rest and even during sleep that it will take pages to enumerate all of them. I give thanks to all of them for taking care of me even though I do not acknowledge them and their role in my life. Thank you. Thank you. Thank you.

embrace-your-body-286x300

I give thanks to the nerves, blood, tissues, bones, muscles, cartilages and every cell of my body for their role in my life. You are amazingly hard workers who are faithful to me irrespective of how I have treated you in the past. Thank you.

Today I thank God for creating all these little angels who are taking care of me every second of my life. Thank you.

 

Leave a Reply

